The Deckert House
Built in 1902 just seven miles west of Freeman, this small building served the Johannesthal congregation from 1902 until 1967, when the church closed. The building also contains a display of other churches in the community.
Originally located about a mile south of Freeman on U.S. Highway 81, the Diamond Valley School, District #58, served as the one-room schoolhouse for the district just south of Freeman from 1902 until 1969.
The Bethel Mennonite Church was established in 1892 east of Dolton. Built in 1920 and originally located 8 miles north and 4 miles east of Freeman, this building served the congregation until they disbanded in 1992. It incorporates many architectural elements unique to Prussian/Russian Mennonite houses of worship.
Heritage Hall Museum & Archives has over 20,000 items on display.
The Heritage Hall Museum is dedicated to the preservation of rare artifacts used by our ancestors on the way to our standard of living today. It is our desire to leave a wealth of information for our children's children to understand and learn about and from their ancestors.
Heritage Hall Museum welcomes individuals and families, as well as school and tour groups. Large groups are encouraged to call ahead to arrange for guides as needed.
Diamond Valley Schoolhouse
No exhibit can compete with the experience of walking into an historic building and being able to see how a people lived, learned, and worshiped. Heritage Hall Museum is fortunate to offer visitors the opportunity to tour a number of restored and furnished historic buildings.
Ludwig Deckert built this frame home in 1879 northeast of Freeman. The house was moved to the museum site and restored in 1979. Many household items are original furnishings. A unique feature of this interesting home is the Russian oven and heating system built in the center of the house.
Open May 1 through September 30
or by appointment
Bethel Mennonite Church
Johannesthal Reformed Church